Open Afternoon for Reception 2024/25 Cohort - Wednesday, 18th October 2023 at 1:30pm
School Logo

‘Give Them Wings So They Can Fly!’

Autumn Term 2018 News from the Chair

Autumn Term 2018 Governing Body News…


We welcome Mrs. Diane Barlow as a new Parent Governor, and thank Mr. Frank Wrathall and Mrs. Christine Fish for their contributions as Governors over the last decade.


We would like to thank FOGS for their continuous and highly successful fundraising which they provide for Gisburn School.  The huge amount of personal time donated by individual FOGS members is very much appreciated, and we are very grateful for the successful organisation of so many events and activities for the benefit of our school.  Their vital contribution towards the school’s finances mean that our pupils do not miss out on resources and experiences that they otherwise would.  Thank you also to all the parents who support FOGS by attending their events and donating to the school.


The Full Governing Body, Standards and Effectiveness Committee (SEC) and Resources Committee have met this term and reports have been received from governors on Special Educational Needs (SEN) and Able, Gifted and Talented (AGT), and Safeguarding.  The Chair of Governors has attended the Chairs Forum, and attended a historical walk around the village with Owls class.  Three governors have attended PREVENT training.


The Governing Body of Gisburn School.


Mrs Kate Sherry, Mrs Vanessa Robinson, Mrs Diane Barlow, Mr Allan Clements, Mrs Lisa Longton, Mrs Lisa McCloskey, Mrs Robynne Plant, Mr Stuart Redman, Mrs Harriet Smith, Mr David Varley, Mrs Heather Windle