School Logo

‘Give Them Wings So They Can Fly!’

Summer Term 2017 News from the Chair

Governing Body Summer Term 2017 News


The Governing Body of Gisburn School would like to congratulate staff and pupils alike on a very successful year.   Staff and pupils have worked extremely hard this year and have achieved outstanding results.  The SATS results, attainment, and progress results across every year group have been exceptional this year.  Therefore, we would like to take this opportunity to thank all staff and pupils for their hard work, enthusiasm and dedication over the last year.


We would like to especially thank Mrs Davies for her service to the school over the last 7 years and wish her all the very best for her retirement.  She has been an inspirational teacher in Doves and has had a huge impact on the children who were privileged enough to have been in her class.


We also look forward to welcoming Mr Shepherd as the new Eagles class teacher in September when Mrs Hartley moves to Doves.


The Governing Body have met 3 times this term; the Resources Committee and the Standards & Effectiveness Committee met in June and the full governing body met in July.  In addition, Nominated Governors have visited school and Governor Reports have been received on Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs (SEN), Able, Gifted and Talented (AGT), Early Years Foundation Stage, and Governor Training. 


The Governors will be busy next term with the process of recruiting a new Headteacher and we will keep you updated with the progress.


Finally, we wish the year 6 pupils good luck in September when they continue their journey to high school and all the best for their future.  We also look forward to welcoming the new Reception children when we return after the Summer break.

Hope you have an enjoyable Summer holiday and we look forward to seeing you in September.


The Governing Body of Gisburn School.


Mrs Kate Sherry (Chair of Governors), Mrs Vanessa Robinson (Vice Chair of Governors), Mr Allan Clements, Mrs Catherine Feber

Mrs Christine Fish, Mr Richard Gioserano, Mrs Lisa Longton, Mr Stuart Redman, Mrs Harriet Smith, Mr David Varley, Mrs Heather Windle


Mr Frank Wrathall